Toggle Quick Contact Bar


Prof. Lawrence Nield

An urban design architecture and sports planning enthusiast, Lawrence Nield has seen his fair share of the world, working in Australia and New Zealand, Greece, China, Vietnam, Italy, France and Britain. Having been appointed head of masterplanning for the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games in 1994, he designed five venues in 2004 Athens, and five venues and for the Beijing Olympic Games. He worked on the Paris Olympic bid for 2012 Games for which he was made ‘le Chevalier de l’ordre des l’Arts et Lettres’ by the French Republic. The Architectural Society of China honoured him the “Grand Architectural Creation Award’ after the Olympic Games. Nield was the Professor of Architecture at the University of Sydney from 1992-1996, and is now a visiting Professor at the University of NSW.

He founded the firm Lawrence Nield & Partners in 1976, which merged with Bligh Voller in 1998 to form Bligh Voller Nield, He designed the Sydney Olympic Tennis Centre and Beijing Olympic Tennis Centre. His designs have won numerous awards, including the RAIA Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Buildings in 1997 for University of the Sunshine Coast Library, the Sulman Award and the RIBA International Award. He is the author the Australian and New Zealand section of the ‘Oxford Companion to Architecture’ and co–author of the ‘Changing Hospital Architecture’ and ‘City Spaces: art and design’ (ed. Elizabeth Mossop).

In 2012, Lawrence won the prestigious Gold Medal from Australian Institute of Architects for “outstanding contribution to architecture for over forty-five years.”

Click here for more information.

Prof. Peter Stutchbury

Peter Stutchbury is emerging as one of the leaders of a new generation of Australian architects. He is recognised for his innovative approach to sustainability and design. A principal of the firm Peter Stutchbury Architecture he has practiced independently since 1981 producing a wide variety of work. Projects have been published and acclaimed internationally. Peter has taught both nationally and internationally significantly as visiting professor at Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico where he held the Catedra Luis Barragáßn, visiting professor at the University of Arizona, the National University of Columbia, Bogota and most recent University Chile. He is currently a Professor at The University of Newcastle, Australia receiving the convocation medal in 2004 and one of the distinguished ‘masters’ with the Architecture Foundation Australia.

Since 1995 his firm has won an unprecedented 41 Australian Institute of Architects Awards, including National awards. In 2003 Peter became the first Architect to win both National Architecture Awards for Residential and Public Buildings, repeating this in 2005. In 1999 he won the overall National Metal Industries award of Excellence and in 2000 and 2008 The Australian Timber Award. In 2006 Peter was runner-up in the “Innovative Architectures – Design and Sustainability” award in Italy and in 2008 the firm won the International ‘Living Steel’ Competition for extreme climate housing in Russia. Peter Stutchbury Architecture has exhibited work across Australia, Germany, Japan, Luxembourg, France, New Zealand, South Africa, Namibia, USA and Slovenia and at the Venice Architecture Biennale in Italy in both 2006 and 2008.

In 2015, Peter Stutchbury received the AIA Gold Medal for his “ongoing contribution to the advancement of architecture through practice, teaching and participation in professional activities and organizations” – AIA jury citation.

Click here for more information.

Prof. Richard Leplastrier

Richard Leplastrier is a seminal figure in Australian architecture and architectural education. He eschews publicity and his built works are secret treasures to be discovered only by those privileged enough to be introduced to them. His sensitivity to issues of culture and place and his accumulated wisdom in the design and making of architecture is gently revealed though his tutorial sessions in the design studio. He received national recognition in 1999 through the award of the Gold Medal of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects. Richard has received international recognition through receipt of the 2004 ‘Spirit of Nature Wood Architecture Award’. The award, established in Finland by the Wood in Culture Association, is granted every second year for architectural excellence. The first recipient of the Award in 2000 was Renzo Piano from Italy, and in 2002 the Award was presented to architect Kengo Kuma from Japan, in 2006 to Peter Zumthor and in 2008 to José Cruz Ovalle from Chile. He has been awarded the Dreyer Foundation Prize of Honour 2009 in Denmark, the first time an architect from outside Denmark has received this prize.

Click here for more information.

Prof. Kerry Clare + Prof. Lindsay Clare

Kerry + Lindsay Clare established Clare Design at Mooloolaba, Queensland in 1979 and have completed more than 150 projects ranging from single residences to attached housing, commercial, educational and public buildings. In 1998 they were appointed as Design Directors for the NSW Government Architect, from 2000 to 2010 they were founding Design Directors of Architectus Sydney.

Since 1982, their practice has received 3 state and national awards from the Australian Institute of Architects for housing, public recycling, civic and commercial projects. Major awards include the National Robin Boyd in 1992 and 1995, the National RAIA Commercial Award 1995, the National BHP Steel Futures Award 1993, the National RAIA Environment Award 1996, the National Public Architecture Award in 2006 (Architectus) and a National Commendation for Multiple Residential Architecture for the UNSW Student Housing Village in 2010 (Architectus). Kerry + Lindsay have exhibited work at the 1991 and 2008 Venice Biennale, the 1996 Milan Triennale, the 1996 UIA Congress in Barcelona and the “Place Makers – Contemporary Queensland Architects “exhibition at GoMA in 2008. Their Cotton Tree social housing project was selected in 2000 by the Architectural League as one of ten worldwide for inclusion in the “Ten Shades of Green” exhibition in New York. The exhibition travelled to USA states until 2005 to demonstrate architectural excellence and environmental sensitivity

In 2010, Kerry + Lindsay Clare received the AIA Gold Medal for their “contribution to the advancement of architecture and particularly sustainable architecture” – AIA jury citation.

Click here for more information.

Chris Tucker

Chris Tucker is the Master of Architecture program convenor in the School of Architecture and Built Environment, final year design studio coordinator, and director of the architectural practice, Herd. Chris has been awarded regional, state and international prizes for architecture and his buildings and designs have been widely exhibited and published. In 2006 he became the first Australian to win the Central Glass International Architectural Design Competition, the 41st year the prize has been awarded. He has been awarded over $100,000 for his research concerning the social sustainability of residential streetscapes; the analysis of the visual characteristics of buildings using visual algorithms. He has recently completed a Master of Philosophy and is currently enrolled in a PhD concerning the use of ‘lost’ spaces within the fabric of a city for small houses.